Book ReviewDeath and the Girl He Loves

Reviewer's Rating: 
I truly enjoyed this book...and yet, it failed to rock my world because (see explanation in review).
St. Martin's Griffin, 2013

BOOK THREE: DARKLIGHT SERIES. The fate of the world is not something a girl wants on her shoulders, and that is especially true for Lorelei McAlister, even though that is exactly where the world's fate has decided to take up residence. Lorelei has seen first hand the horrors that lie beneath our everyday world. And those horrors are getting her friends killed. Because of this, she agrees to leave the sanctity of her hometown and is sent to a different world entirely. A boarding school. But even here she is being watched. Someone knows what she is. What she carries inside her soul. And now, alone and vulnerable, she must face the fact that there are people who want her dead, and no matter where she goes, no matter how far she runs, the lives of her friends and family are in mortal peril.

Yummy!  A new book from Darynda Jones and what a treat it was AS USUAL! :)  Right off the bat, I'll say one of the things I enjoyed most about this book was how the story took new turns.  At the end of book two, Lorelei is leaving her hometown to try and protect her family by not being around them because the bad guys keep finding her and attacking her.  The friendships and relationships Darynda has built up for us in books one and two are a major draw for readers so taking Lorelei away to create new ones made me wonder if they could be just as good as the ones we would miss.  I won't tell you how she does it, but she does it good!

Another winning factor are the characters themselves - they feel like real people that you'd want in your corner whether you are asking them to pass the butter or stand with you against the end of days.  The pacing is perfect, the intensity is spot on and I truly loved racing through the pages to see what happened next and what clue would shed new light on a three book problem.

Despite how much I love to gush about Darynda Jones as an author in general, and despite the fact this is a Young Adult level book, I am keeping these three gems aside for my daughter to read later.  She is an advanced reader, but the content is a bit dark at times.  I'm a big fan of take what you like and leave the rest, but the entire series is based on the fact Lorelei swallowed a humongo demon dude (horns and all) when she was just six years old and now as a teenager is being called upon to save the world...somehow.  It sounds so completely implausible - to the point where you'd think it would not be a good read, but again, I will toot my horn that the characters themselves are the gold no matter what the crazy plot might be.

The Darklight series made me hopeful it would be a series, as in more than two, more than three, dare I hope for fifty books in the series?  But this book was a finisher as far as I can see so perhaps it would have been better named the Darklight Trilogy...maybe Darynda will pleasantly surprise me and continue it - here's hoping!

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
one - = one
Solve this math question and enter the solution with digits. E.g. for "two plus four = ?" enter "6".